${spinon.layout.jumpToContent}

Salzgitter

400th Anniversary of the Battle of Lutter am Barenberge - Special Exhibition

The Tillyhaus in Salzgitter-Bad is hosting the special exhibition “400 Years Since the Battle of Lutter am Barenberge: The Thirty Years’ War in the Salzgitter Region.”

Event information

Date & time

22.08.202629.11.2026
Depiction of the battle on a 1920 emergency banknote issued by the town of Lutter am Barenberge. Photo: City of Salzgitter

The story provides a highlight-reel account of the Thirty Years’ War, focusing primarily on the events that took place within what is now the city limits of Salzgitter. Special attention is given to the terrible consequences of the war for the people living here at the time, as well as to the battles at Lutter am Barenberge (1626) and at Thiede / Wolfenbüttel (1641). New archaeological findings from the Lutter battlefield and the “living history” hobby are also briefly introduced.

Nearly 400 years ago, on August 27, 1626, a major and extremely bloody battle took place near Lutter am Barenberge. Its outcome determined the further course of history for large parts of what is now Lower Saxony—including the present-day city limits of Salzgitter. The Battle of Lutter, however, was only one aspect of the “Thirty Years’ War” (1618–1648). This major conflict—actually a series of four major sub-wars—reached the region in 1625 and raged with varying intensity for nearly two decades. By the time it ended, the Brunswick region lay completely devastated. It took years to recover from the war’s aftermath.

The special exhibition was conceived by the Städtisches Museum Schloss Salder and the City of Salzgitter’s Department of Culture. It was realized in cooperation with the Braunschweig District Archaeology Office (Lower Saxony State Office for the Preservation of Historical Monuments) and the Interessengemeinschaft Dreißigjähriger Krieg Oderwald e.V.

The monuments on the battlefield today. Photo: City of Salzgitter

Hours and Location:

The exhibition is being held at the Tillyhaus, located at Marienplatz 12 in Salzgitter-Bad. Unfortunately, the building is not wheelchair accessible (there are steps at the entrance).

The exhibition will be open from August 22 through November 29, 2026, every Saturday and Sunday from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Admission is free. For school classes and larger groups, visits and guided tours are also available at other times by appointment. Please direct inquiries to: museumstadt.salzgitterde. For more information, call 05341 / 839-4619, -4622, or -4623.

Venue

Organizer

Explanations and notes

Picture credits

  • City of Salzgitter
  • City of Salzgitter
  • City of Salzgitter / A. Kugellis